Inclusive Excellence Awards

Inaugural Diversity Symposium & Awards Ceremony, September 2021

The Peter W. Likins Inclusive Excellence Awards

The annual Peter W. Likins Inclusive Excellence Awards were established to recognize students, staff and faculty-led programs that enhance the University of Arizona through their inclusive programming and/or leadership. To be considered, nominees should have made a significant contribution toward creating a diverse and inclusive community through one or more of the following:

  • Embedding diversity and inclusiveness into a structural/institutional aspect of the UA (e.g., policy, procedure, tradition, vision statement, curriculum, etc.)
  • Recruitment and retention of an excellent and diverse faculty, staff or student body
  • Fostering equality of opportunity within our campus community
  • Encouraging diverse perspectives on our campus
  • Creating a welcoming and supportive campus climate through efforts such as visibility, communication and education
  • Other areas critical to establishing inclusive excellence at the UA

Richard Ruiz Diversity Leadership Faculty Award

In 2015, a new faculty award was created: the Richard Ruiz Diversity Leadership Faculty Award. This award honors Professor Richard Ruiz’s many contributions to making the UA a better, more inclusive campus. In fact, he was awarded the Inclusive Excellence Award in 2009 for his tireless work supporting and advocating for diversity and cultural appreciation. Reflecting upon Professor Ruiz’s decades of contributions to diversity leadership, former President Peter Likins noted his “exceptional … devotion to the UA diversity programs and their underlying values.”

Recipients and Guidelines

This year's Diversity Awards Ceremony will be held during the Inaugural Diversity Symposium in September. Award recipients receive a $500 professional development stipend and are honored during a special reception.